Roasted Garlic and Spinach Soup

I have been battling a nasty cold for over a week, and I suspect you have, too. Everyone in Chicago seems to be sick. I made this soup for myself a few days ago because I wanted something warm and comforting that would pack in tons of garlic and vitamin C, and not involve too much of the getting out of my sick bed.

Why, I ask you, does chicken soup have the market on cold-curing fame? Is it something specifically about chicken or is it just the heat of the soup? I suspect that a warm soup such as this one, packed with vitamin-rich foods would do the trick just as successfully. Plus I didn’t have any chicken.

I happened to have some of Rachel’s amazing preserved lemons on hand, so I threw them in for some punch. If you don’t have a stash of preserved lemons or a Rachel available to make you some, you could use regular old lemon zest and lemon juice.

I love roasted garlic, but I should warn you: be prepared with a pack of gum on hand after you eat this. This is not a first date soup.

I tasted and added flavors here and there, and ended up with a phosphorescent radioactive green hue. Gorgeous and strange. But it certainly helped the sick move along, and didn’t involve much of me standing over the stove. It was mighty tasty, too.

Roasted Garlic and Spinach Soup
olive oil
1 head of garlic
10 oz. of spinach
2 preserved lemon peels (or zest and juice of one lemon)
1 leek
1/4 stick butter
2 tbsp. whole wheat flour
salt and pepper
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
16 oz. veggie stock
1 can cannellini beans, rinsed
1 c. milk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut off top of garlic head, with cloves still in tact. Drizzle olive oil over it. Loosely wrap in parchment paper. Roast for 45 minutes until squishy.

In a food processor, blend roasted garlic cloves (minus skins), spinach, lemon peel, salt, pepper, nutmeg, and a few teaspoons of olive oil until blended.

Over medium heat, melt butter and saute leeks and salt and pepper until soft. Add the spinach mix. Coat with flour and mix well. Add beans. Pour in veggie stock and bring to a boil. Lower heat to simmer and cook for about 30 minutes.

Add milk and adjust seasonings as needed. Serve with cheesy croutons, or a generous hunk of crusty bread.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Kate Soto

domestikating.wordpress.com

2 responses to “Roasted Garlic and Spinach Soup”

  1. stina says :

    wow! the way you made this was totally surprising but i bet it was delicious.

Leave a Reply

