The Baketrix: Pucker-Up Lemony Cookies

Pauline the Baketrix is back! I love, love, love, love, love lemony desserts. I wish I could teleport Pauline from LA to Chicago to make me these puppies!!

The Baketrix:

Pucker-Up Lemony Cookies
adapted from my friend Sarah Cifarelli’s mother-in-law’s recipe, “Sam’s Glazed Lavish Lemon Cookies” which I think came from Carole Walter Cookies

Something about its sunny disposition just makes me smile from ear to ear. I love how its skin, when zested, adds amazing flavor to dishes and how its juice makes my mouth pucker–it can be such a tart! I am speaking of the beloved lemon, of course. So beloved in fact that the City of Goleta, outside of Santa Barbara, is celebrating its 19th Annual Lemon Festival.

I especially lemon curd, but when I don’t feel like using so many egg yolks nor have the time to make it, I can satisfy my lemon craving by baking these quick and easy lemon cookies. This recipe was given to me by Sarah Cifarelli’s mother-in-law who made these for Sarah and Gabriel’s engagement party. I couldn’t get enough of these babies and I hung out by the cookie tray and kept gobbling them up. They are lemony with that sweet and tart combo that just makes me go gaga!

Here’s the recipe, slightly adapted to get them quicker into my tummy: I cut out the refrigeration time for the first batch to go into the oven. What can I say, I’m impatient and I don’t mind a flat cookie! For these cookies, I do not substitute “healthier choice” anything–these need the all-purpose flour, refined sugar, and powdered sugar…and of course, the buttah!

The batter stuck to the mixer is all going into my tummy – I love dough!

Sam’s Glazed Lavish Lemon Cookies

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
1 c. strained cake flour (I ran out of cake flour and used all-purpose and it was still delicious)
1 tsp .cream of tartar
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 c. (2 sticks) unsalted butter, slightly firm
2 tbsp. freshly grated lemon zest (I added even more!!!)
1 1/2 c. sugar (I used baker’s sugar for this recipe)
4 large egg yolks (I scramble up the egg whites for breakfast the next day with tomatoes and cheese = cancels out all the calories from the cookies I ate, maybe?!)
1/4 c. fresh lemon juice (again, I squeezed way more juice)
1 tsp. vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Here’s where I simplify the recipe in the mixing! If you want the full instructions, google the recipe as I have streamlined it here:

Mix butter with lemon zest til creamy and light in color with electric mixer – about 2 minutes. Blend in the egg yolks while mixing til incorporated and fluffy. Pour in lemon juice and vanilla and mix, mix, mix

Shift dry ingredients directly into the wet ingredients by pouring all the dry stuff into your handy-dandy large strainer and lightly tapping the strainer so the contents filter into the bowl below. This method saves on cleanup of a bowl and, heck, it’s using less water to clean it! Mix all until well incorporated.

This is a super soft dough so the actual recipe calls for refrigeration…chill the dough covered with plastic wrap for an hour (or not, up to you). Take it out and form it into a disk and then cut into 8 wedge shape pieces, bake for 18-20 minutes.

Now, here’s where I really cheat…I can’t wait an hour! I immediately spoon out my first batch onto the cookie sheet and pop in the oven for about 18-20 minutes (check to make sure it doesn’t burn). I then refrigerate the rest as directed (or most times not!). My method forms super flat cookies, think Murakami, while the one hour refrigeration will produce nice thick cookies!

Lemon cookies with another of my favorite mugs by artist Kristen K. Swanson

But we are not done yet. We need the glaze:

2 c. strained confectioner’s sugar
3 tbsp. hot fresh lemon juice or lime (I use more for more tartness, I am such a tart!)
1 tbsp. light corn syrup (I am usually against corn syrup but for this glaze it adds the glue to keep it together and not slide off the cookie face)
pinch of salt

Mix together until smooth and drizzle onto the still warm cookies!

Take a bite and enjoy, pucker up baby, pucker up!

Detail of cookies…notice the mint = “no green is obscene” mentality is from my days waitressing at TGIFs in DC.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Kate Soto

domestikating.wordpress.com

3 responses to “The Baketrix: Pucker-Up Lemony Cookies”

  1. Mom says :

    Yummy, a good use for my lemon tree, but I don’t know when I will have a harvest.

  2. marsha cifarelli says :

    They look soooo good. And everyone who eats the gets happy! Oh, and everyone who reads your delightful and lavish cookie send up gets happy.

  3. pauline says :

    Marsha,
    your cookie and recipe are such a hit everytime I make them. Thank you for sharing it with me. I still have to make the Rugalah recipe but it looks so complicated…eeks!

Leave a Reply

