A Very Merry Unbirthday!

At work on Thursday, I received pretty much the best package ever: a box of Alice in Wonderland-themed sweets from Laurel Avenue Bakery. These goodies were sent from California by Kasia, with a note requesting I enjoy them in a grand Mad Hatter tea party. How could I refuse? I invited Sara and Melissa to meet me in my office on Friday afternoon for tea and treats.

The package was wrapped in a large blue Alice ribbon with a small note asking us to “eat me.” I could smell the sugar and chocolate before I even opened the box, and struggled with the string and tape to get it open as quickly as possible. Inside was a nest of brown scrunched-string confetti cradling delicately wrapped treats in vivid pastels. Pink rose water cakes. Blue meringue mushrooms. Chocolate unbirthday cupcakes.

The rose water cake, I think, was my favorite. It was moist and sweet with a slight painting-the-roses-red perfume. My grandmother used to give me rose perfume as a kid, so the whole sensation was evocative of the childhood grandeur of playing dress up. I’m pretty sure I got it all over my face as I devoured it.

a very merry unbirthday to you

The cupcake was amazing too. A very merry unbirthday to me.

Melissa supplied us with pomegranate white tea for the occasion.

And effortlessly, a Friday afternoon was transformed from being the exhausted end of a busy week to a magical, nostalgic sugar rush with friends.

As a cheer-up package, it was pretty damn effective. It’s amazing what being surprised with sugar will do to a gal.

Thanks, Kasia! I wish you could have joined us at the tea party. It made my day.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Kate Soto

domestikating.wordpress.com

One response to “A Very Merry Unbirthday!”

  1. Kasia says :

    Awwww, I just about cried when I read this. So sad I couldn’t be there to enjoy it but I am glad it was rather effective. ❤ ya!!

Leave a Reply

