Smoked Salmon Salad

I was thinking today as I drove home that each of my dear friends–or nearly everyone, at least–loves food. Not just in a three-square-meal-a-day type of way or even in an obsessive way, but with a real gusto. In the collection of people I have befriended, spread out across the globe, with different interests and minds and lives, they all seem to have this love of food in common. Maybe I gravitate toward it, though it seems completely coincidental. But there really is something warm and open about a food person. Not the snobby thing. I get that, but it’s not what I mean. I mean the feeding people. The cooking with friends. The openness to the various pleasures.

This has been a hard winter for me. Personal changes. Reflection. Crazy work. But there is something about food that focuses the scene each night, whether it’s by myself in my kitchen or with friends. It melts the snow away.

As I mentioned before, I am into poaching eggs right now. And I am getting better at it.  You can note here that I almost have the shape right. It’s a globulous, oblong thing that sort of drapes over the croutons. Not the perfect sphere yet, but getting closer.

I made the croutons from a stale baguette. I drizzled with olive oil, garlic, salt, and pepper, and roasted at 500 degrees for about 8 minutes.

Smoked Salmon Salad
2 cups of arugula (per person)
1/2 grapefruit, peeled and sliced
smoked salmon
croutons
1 egg, poached
1 tsp. capers

Grapefruit Vinaigrette
olive oil (ratio should be 3 to 1 oil to acid, so approx. 1/2 c. oil)
juice of 1/2 grapefruit (the other half)
2 tsp. fresh parsley, finely diced
2 tsp. fresh thyme
1 tsp. red wine vinegar
1 tsp. honey
2 scallions, finely diced
salt and pepper

Assemble the salad: Arugula, grapefruit, salmon, croutons, poached egg, capers.

In a food processor, if you have one, or in a bowl with a whisk, if you don’t, place the grapefruit juice and vinegar and honey, then slowly add the olive oil until it emulsifies to desired consistency. Add the herbs, scallions, salt, and pepper to taste. Spoon over the salad until it is appropriately dressed.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Kate Soto

domestikating.wordpress.com

5 responses to “Smoked Salmon Salad”

  1. Sara says :

    That looks gorgeous! I can’t wait for you to make me poached eggs! Making and eating food with friends is truly therapy. xo

  2. Tricia says :

    So pretty. You need to teach me how to poach an egg!

  3. stina says :

    minus the capers, i would totally eat the hell out of this.

  4. Kate Soto says :

    What’s wrong with capers?

  5. Mary Soto says :

    It looks yummy. Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

