Potatoes Au Gratin

It’s been snowing for almost 24 hours now. There’s no end in sight. I got home from work, made dinner, ate with some friends, and my car is already covered in snow again. The inroads I dug for easy escape tomorrow morning are already filled in.

Winter seems a time to feed people. I love to anyways, in any season. But now, as it becomes quiet and inhospitable outside, I find my friends gathering indoors, around food. Tonight I had a million potatoes on hand, so I invited Siggy and Mike and Sara and Freyja over for potatoes au gratin. I didn’t even have a protein. Just potatoes, cream, and cheese. Just indulgence. I served it with a spinach salad and steamed broccoli, but the point was the potatoes.

I recently read a New York Times article redeeming potatoes for their contributions to daily vitamin C and B6. And this is grand. I love potatoes. But the ones I served, russets, were the garden-variety, high-glycemic index, starchy taters. And let me say that they were fabulous.

Scalloped Potato Gratin
Adapted from Tyler Florence’s recipe on foodnetwork.com

1 1/2 c. heavy cream
1 sprig fresh thyme
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
butter
2 pounds russet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/8-inch slices
salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 c. gruyere, shredded
1/2 c. parmesan, shredded

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Over medium, heat the cream with a sprig of thyme, garlic, and nutmeg.

Butter a casserole dish. Place a layer of potato on the bottom and season with salt and pepper. Pour half of the cream over the layer, then add a cup of gruyere and 1/4 c. of parmesan. Pour the rest of the potatoes on top in another layer, and season with salt and pepper. Pour the rest of the cream, garlic, and cheese on the top.

Bake until cheese browns, about 45 minutes.

About Kate Soto

domestikating.wordpress.com

5 responses to “Potatoes Au Gratin”

  1. Siggy says :

    That was one de-licous dish! Yum and another yum. Can’t wait for my left overs tomorrow.

    Thank you Katela!!

  2. Stina says :

    We must share a brain because I bought all the ingredients for this yesterday morning! Now I can’t wait to make it.

  3. Kate Soto says :

    wow, that would be the best brain ever.

  4. Sara says :

    YUM! I cannot wait to eat leftovers for lunch! Thanks, Kate!

  5. Mary Soto says :

    Those look absolutely scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

