Artichoke Bruschetta

As the snow fell over my neighborhood this morning, I caramelized onions. I sliced a baguette and rubbed the pieces with garlic. I gently sauteed the bread until there was a golden sheen on each side. Before 7 am, my hands smelled like garlic and I’d already had a good cry from the onions. For a lunch potluck at work today, I got up early to cook.

Gabe looked at me strangely when he awoke and heard the skillet splattering (artichoke hearts and garlic cooking). I’m not a morning person. I tend to wake up at the last moment possible to still get to work on time. I love the snooze button. I love bed and a lot of blankets. But there is something about cooking first thing in the morning that focused me today. I woke right up and shook off the grogginess while I diced and warmed and rubbed and worked on the pieces of a whole that would be assembled later.

Artichoke Bruschetta
1 baguette
2-3 cloves garlic
1 small yellow onion, cut into strips
olive oil
1 tbsp. butter
1 6 oz. jar of marinated artichoke hearts, drained
1 8 oz. package of ricotta
salt and pepper

Slice the baguette into 1-inch pieces. Rub garlic on one side and then brush olive oil on both sides. Lightly grill in a skillet until they are golden on both sides.

Heat 2 tbsp. of olive oil and 1 tbsp. of butter in a skillet over medium, and cook the onions until they are very golden and tender, about 8 minutes. Remove from heat.

Saute garlic until just golden, about 1 minute, then add the artichoke hearts. Warm through, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat. Add salt and pepper.

To assemble: smear ricotta on a toasted baguette piece, then sprinkle with salt and pepper. Pile on a few onions and then the artichoke mixture. Voila. Simple.

About Kate Soto

domestikating.wordpress.com

One response to “Artichoke Bruschetta”

  1. Tricia says :

    I made this last night, and it was delicious. Everyone who tried it, loved it. Very simple, but very flavorful 🙂

Leave a Reply

