Fig Jam

This is another Costco story, but a dark and stormy one. You’d think all I do is shop at is Costco, but really, it’s just new and intriguing.

C. and her new boyfriend were coming to visit and wanted me to cook for them, so I asked S. to pick up a pork loin, with the intention of roasting it with Giada’s fig sauce–which is really good, you should try it. I popped mixed baby potatoes in the oven with rosemary, garlic, olive oil, salt and pepper at 400:

roasted potatoes

Then I went to prepare the pork. I opened the package, and a rotten, awful smell spewed forth. I called in reinforcements to second my smelling intuition, and indeed everyone agreed that the pork was rotten. So it was time to think fast.

I didn’t have any other meat on hand but frozen chicken thighs, and wasn’t feeling inspired by them. I did, however, have a Trader Joe’s pie crust (yes–store bought. It was handy in a pinch!). And broccoli. And a dozen eggs. And cheese. So after some debate, I threw together a quiche:

Quiche

Which was tasty, but still left me with 12 oz of dried mission figs and a bottle of port. Seemed a shame to let them go to waste. So, I whipped up a fig jam in my food processor, which I served over ice cream. The result was gooey and fig newton–like, in the best possible way.

Fig Jam

Fig Jam

12 oz dried mission figs, cut in half and stems removed
1 c. port
4 T. balsamic vinegar
2 T. honey
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1 pinch of salt

Add all ingredients to a medium saucepan over low heat and simmer until the wine has reduced by half and figs are soft. With an immersion blender or cuisinart, mix until blended thoroughly. Serve over ice cream.

Admittedly, it was the easiest thing to make of the night, but it was really delightful. Paired with SB.’s apple-chard pie (which should be a blog post in and of itself), it was divine.

apple-chard pie

And with that, dinner was saved!

Tags: , ,

About Kate Soto

domestikating.wordpress.com

2 responses to “Fig Jam”

  1. LoveEating says :

    This made me want to eat more vegetables and figs. This looks and tastes fabulously declicious.

  2. Brooklyn Eater says :

    I’ve been dreaming about your delicious quiche. And to think, it was S.’s first taste of broccoli! You can cook for me anytime.

Leave a Reply

